Twitter list: Top green politics tweeters

Filling your twitter feed with political commentators or green geeks is easy, but pinpointing people who combine the two can be trickier.

So, who should you follow for news, views and the inside scoop on how environmental issues are faring in the UK’s corridors of power?

 Here are some suggestions – additions welcome! Updated 01.08.12 – thanks for all the input

Follow this list on twitter

Journalists

James Murray @James_BG
Editor of BusinessGreen.com

Roger Harrabin @RogerHarrabin
BBC Environment Analyst

Jim Pickard @PickardJE
Political Correspondent for the Financial Times and co-founder of FT Westminster

Damian Carrington @dpcarrington
Head of environment at the Guardian – on sabbatical until the end of August.

Fiona Harvey @fionaharvey
Guardian environment reporter

Carbon Brief @carbonbrief & its editor @chr1stianh 
Fact-checking on energy and climate from the UK

Alex Marshall @alexends & Simon Evans @drsimevans
Reporters for @TheENDSReport

Leo Hickman @leohickman
Guardian journalist

Emily Beament @paenvironment
UK Press Association’s environment correspondent

Louise Gray @loubgray
Environment Correspondent on the Daily Telegraph

NGOs and think tanks

Craig Bennett @CraigBennett3
Director of Policy and Campaigns at Friends of the Earth

George Smeeton, @GSmeeton
Senior Press Officer at WWF-UK

Ruth Davis @ruthdavis27
Chief Policy Advisor, Greenpeace UK

Guy Newey @guynewey
Head of environment & energy @Policy_Exchange

Alastair Harper @harperga
Leads Green Alliance’s Political Leadership theme

Joss Garman @jossgarman
Greenpeace UK senior energy campaigner

Bob Ward @ret_ward
Policy and Communications Director at the Grantham Research Institute on Climate Change and the Environment at LSE.

Martyn Williams @MartynWilliams2 
Working on the Energy Bill Revolution (@energybillrev)

WWF Public Affairs @WWF_UK_Politics

Will Straw @wdjstraw
Associate Director at @ippr, founder of http://www.LeftFootForward.org

David Powell @powellds
Economics campaigner, Friends of the Earth

Doug Parr @doug_parr
Greenpeace UK Chief Scientist & Policy Director

MPs

Greg Barker @GregBarkerMP
Minister of State for Energy and Climate Change. MP for Bexhill & Battle

Caroline Flint  @CarolineFlintMP
MP for Don Valley. Shadow Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change

Zac Goldsmith @ZacGoldsmith
MP for Richmond Park and North Kingston

Caroline Lucas @CarolineLucas
MP for Brighton Pavilion; Leader of the Green Party

Alan Whitehead MP @alanwhiteheadmp
Labour MP for Southampton Test; Chair of All Party Renewable & Sustainable Energy Group @praseg

Business & 0thers

Jessica Lennard @JessicaLennard
Political consultant specialising in energy (Edelman)

Jennifer Webber @RUKjenniferw
RenewableUK’s External Affairs Director

Neil Stockley @NeilStockley
Works in strategic communications. Former policy director for the Liberal Democrats

Matthew Brown @DrMatthewBrown 
Head of Energy & Climate Change at the CBI

3 comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s